Deep Cycle Batteries and CPAP

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.
TeaTime2
Burning Since: 2008

Deep Cycle Batteries and CPAP

Post by TeaTime2 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:47 pm

So this is my first time bringing a CPAP to the playa, and my camp does not do generators.

From looking things up, I've deduced that having a DC converter with a deep cycle marine battery should do the trick. However, my electrical engineering skills are lacking. Hence, questions:
-how do I choose the right kind of battery?
-How do I recharge the battery on the playa (If it's off of someone's generator, what cables/other devices would I need?)
-How feasible is the solar solution and what parameters and devices and cables do I look for there?
-What else am I missing?

Thank you all

FossaFerox
Burning Since: 2013
Camp Name: Vinyl Bunker

Re: Deep Cycle Batteries and CPAP

Post by FossaFerox » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:57 pm

Do you have the specs on the CPAP machine's power consumption? What's the plug look like? Even the model would be helpful.
ygmir wrote:Everyone loves you there, and no one cares a shit about you..........all at once. and vice versa.

Captain

Post by Captain » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:59 pm

I would suggest combining two 6 volt golf cart batteries for a single high amp hour 12 volt output. Golf cart batteries have high amp hours and can go pretty low in charge and still be usable. This is what fulltime RV'ers use for their house batteries.

To recharge from a generator you would be a converter, this would convert AC to the DC need by the battery, but you would also need a charge controller.

Captain Goddammit
Burning Since: 2000
Camp Name: First Camp

Post by Captain Goddammit » Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:03 pm

It probably draws like 30 to 50 watts. The spec sheet will list maximum power consumption but average will be less.