This Tent Mahal good for anything?

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.
Elliot
Burning Since: 2006

This Tent Mahal good for anything?

Post by Elliot » Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:52 pm

Perhaps I already know the answer, but since I have zero experience with tents…. How grotesquely Playa-UN-worthy is this Tent Majal a neighbor gave me?

It’s a Kmart Northwest Territory Big Timber 18x15 Four Room Deluxe Family Dome Tent, “sleeps 10”.
I assume "Deluxe" is the key to success here.

About half of it is screen, “for stargazing”. Then the rainfly goes over it.

The rainfly would surely blow to Winnemucca instantly, but could perhaps be Gorilla-taped securely.

It needs cleaning and minor repair.

In case some of the dirt is “alive”, can I mix bleach in the water without harming the tent? The dome and screen are polyester, and the floor is PE, which I’m guessing means polyethylene.

Thoughts?

Canoe

Re: This Tent Mahal good for anything?

Post by Canoe » Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:03 pm

The usual issue with stargazing screens, letting tons of dust in. Gluing or sewing covers over the screen, laying blankets over the screens (weight of blankets, strength of tent, etc.), as others have been tried, some with success, some without. Success seems to be dependent largely on the quality of the implementation, not as much on the solution used. Gorilla tape has very variable results: Gorilla tape is often a huge sticky mess, and depending on its production run, age and storage, may give up any resemblance of hold in the playa heat.

The tent's footprint shape isn't overly wind-friendly, but the domed roof should compensate enough and let the wind pressure escape over the top nicely enough. One could add guy lines to support the poles in heavier winds.