Lag Screws for Carport

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.
rfii
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: Lonely Camp

Lag Screws for Carport

Postby rfii » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:29 pm

I'm a newb and having a trouble finding a direct answer to this.

For a 10'x20' carport, is it sufficient to put in one 14" lag screw into the foot of each vertical strut?
Do I also need to hold down the roof by putting one lag screw down at the base of each side and connecting that to the roof with a ratchet strap? Could I simply ratchet strap the roof to the lag screw in the feet instead?

Ratty
Burning Since: 2008
Camp Name: Tiger Man

Re: Lag Screws for Carport

Postby Ratty » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:34 pm

I put one rebar near each foot and use ratchet straps. Wind it around the joint. Not the bar. I dont have any feet on my carport. Never had a problem. Do all this before you dress the whole thing. Otherwise it may blow away right off the bat.
Pictures or it didn't happen Greycoyote
I a recovering swagaholic I have to resist my grabby nature VultureChow
Those aren't buttermilk biscuits I'm lying on Savannah
We're out there to play like adults with no adult supervision CaptG

BBadger
Burning Since: 2018

Postby BBadger » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:36 pm

I sort of did it like you did. I put one lag bolt per foot, but also add a double chainlink and washer on each lagbolt so that I can tie things to them. Then I create internal diagonals in the side walls to keep it stiff using some sort of cord (I used mule tape at the time, but paracord, etc. would work fine). I only used one diagonal per leg pair, but two would make it even more rigid.

For the canopy I just connected it to the structure using running rigging. I did not strap to the roof section itself though (i.e. the diagonals that make the peak of the roof). It seemed strong enough to not require that.