Shade structure design - feeback / advice please!

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding shelter, shade, tents, and camping. Yes, this includes RV's too.
azymuth
Burning Since: 2018
Camp Name: Camp Matthew

Shade structure design - feeback / advice please!

Post by azymuth » Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:07 pm

Hi all, I've drafted up some plans for a shade structure for this year's burn and I'd appreciate some feeback.

I'm trying to optimise for shade area, ease of rigging up / down / adjusting and peace of mind when its blowing.

Its my first time building on the playa so have done a lot of research here and elsewhere. Trying to make use of all the available wisdom, keep it simple and use as few materials as possible.

The main inspiration for the design came from tensegrity shade structures and this interesting article here.

Drafting sketches here and here

Materials:
  • 4 x 3''x4''x12'.7'' poles
  • 1 x 3''x4''x14'.7'' central spacing pole
  • 500m 750 paracord / trucker rope
  • 2 x 12'16' 80% shade cloth / bungie balls
  • 10 x 12'' lag screws / chain for anchors
  • 10 x medium ratchet straps for anchor <> guy purchase
My main question - is this reasonable? Stupid? I've done my share of rigging but not in a desert. I'm also wondering about anchors, lag screws seem to be better than rebar and playa staples too expensive, but are there any gotchas here? Anything else?

Would really appreciate thoughts, and I'm prepared for snark, hit me! :)

A

Jackass

Re: Shade structure design - feeback / advice please!

Post by Jackass » Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:02 pm

I'd just make a flat top emt. Tensegrity shade looks cool, but can be hard to get right, and usually if it fails there is no plan B. I've seen a few fail in the neighborhood after some gusts and they rarely ever came back up.
Sooner or later, it will get real strange...

11th Principle: Depussyfication - Keeping Burning Man potentially lethal. Token

Token
Burning Since: 2001

Post by Token » Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:24 pm