Struggling a Bit with Solar/Battery Numbers and Expectations

A place to discuss all things involving power and technology (including cameras). Generator tips, alternative energy, lighting your camp/bike/art/self, sound systems and more.
Blompson
Burning Since: 2009
Camp Name: Anonymous Village

Struggling a Bit with Solar/Battery Numbers and Expectations

Post by Blompson » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:57 pm

I'm new to all this stuff and have always struggled to grasp concepts relating to electrical currents, measurements, and how power is stored and discharged. But I've been reading and pushing myself and running some numbers, and I *think* I'm getting close to figuring this stuff out. I'd like to check in with folks here though and get some feedback because like I said I'm new to this and I struggle, and I want to make sure I'm being safe and getting my work double-checked by people who know what they're doing.

So to start off/ a little context: I bought a converted shuttle bus that I'm fixing up and getting playa-ready, and got a 140 watt solar panel in the deal. I'm building two bucket swampies to keep the roughly 700 cubic ft. space cool, and I'll be out on the playa for almost two weeks. Now, Realistically, I'm fairly sure this large 140 watt solar panel would easily power a couple of swampies, but I'll have more control over them if I run them with a battery and use the panel to recharge. Additionally, having a battery to run some lights and charge a few small devices would be pretty neat. So I'm thinking I want to do a deep cycle battery and charge it with my panel.