How does one charge 2 deep cycle 12v batteries?

A place to discuss all things involving power and technology (including cameras). Generator tips, alternative energy, lighting your camp/bike/art/self, sound systems and more.
Kkat_86
Burning Since: 2012

How does one charge 2 deep cycle 12v batteries?

Postby Kkat_86 » Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:05 pm

Hello Beautiful Burners!

I bought a homemade electric trike for the burn this year that I am super excited about. The motor runs off two 12v deep cycle batteries in parallel and will probably last 6-8 hours depending on how much we use the throttle. Now I need to figure out how to charge them once we are out there. We have a generator and I'm coming down in an RV. I'm very new to electronics so my knowledge is very basic. HELP. :shock:

BBadger
Burning Since: 2018

Re: How does one charge 2 deep cycle 12v batteries?

Postby BBadger » Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:32 am

Buy a battery charger, read the manual, and recharge your batteries.

You could also google it. Or Youtube it. Not-so-radical self-reliance and all that.
"The essence of tyranny is not iron law. It is capricious law." -- Christopher Hitchens

Hate reading my replies? Click here to add me to your plonk (foe) list.

AntiM
Burning Since: 2001
Camp Name: Anti M's Home for Wayward Art

Postby AntiM » Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:49 am

Yep, you will need to buy a battery charger. Charging straight off the generator is not really feasible. It also depends on the type of generator, the usual ones which come with an RV are not beefy enough.
http://burningman.org/timeline/

Poke me to experience my gooey insides!

Admiral Fukkit
Burning Since: 2000
Camp Name: Camp I'm going to Hawaii instead

Postby Admiral Fukkit » Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:26 am

RV generators are always 2500 - 3000 watts at the very least, usually more.
Thats more than plenty to run several battery chargers at once.