help me with clothing do's and donts????

What to wear? What not to wear? Come here to find and how to make anything you'd wear on your body - from goggles and playawear to bodypainting and adornments.
katieburleson2014
Burning Since: 2014

help me with clothing do's and donts????

Post by katieburleson2014 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:13 am

im a newbie to burning man and i was wondering the do's and donts of clothing. some of the more sepecific questions i have are
1) are tights/pantyhoes a good idea to keep the dust off
2)what kind of boots or shoes should i look for
3)and any other tips for managing long hair.

i am also welcome to any do's and donts :mrgreen:

VultureChow
Burning Since: 2012
Camp Name: Hookers & Makers @ Barbie Death Village

Re: clothing do's and donts

Post by VultureChow » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:24 am

1)Tights and pantyhose will not keep any dust off. It more like baby powder than sand. If you like the look and or feel of the tights, then go ahead and wear them. But they won't really keep you any cleaner. We maybe tights that are closer to legging than pantyhose, but embracing the dust is easier than fighting it.

2)Anything you can stand and walk in all day. Some people go barefoot or flip flops. I prefer workboots and heavy socks. Some can walk in platforms all week long. Make sure they're broken in, you have moleskin for blisters, and you have more than one type just in case they rub you the wrong way

3)There's already an entire thread discussing long hair here: viewtopic.php?t=55540

Also, Welcome!
Sic Semper Spectatores

Elliot
Burning Since: 2006

Re: help me with clothing do's and donts????

Post by Elliot » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:08 am

Definitely a supply of shoes, since they tend to become "solidified" by the dust. Shoe laces can become stiff, etc. The dust simply packs into the tiniest pores in materials.
Three changes of socks PER DAY.

Clothes for 110 degrees F, and clothes for 32 F. Correspondingly warm bedding.