How do you use RV A/C?

Swamp Coolers, Cooler Management, Dry Ice, Misting Systems, and just plain how to beat the heat.
yellowdog

How do you use RV A/C?

Post by yellowdog » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:55 pm

OK, I have no experience with RV's. This year we are adding an RV (stuffed with virgins) to the camp. The previous 6 years we have used solar power for the camp and home-made swamp coolers for domes and trailers. This rental RV will not have the option of adopting our tried and true technology. So, when you stay in an RV, how do you keep cool for day-sleeping? I'm assuming they have a big A/C on top and you have to run a generator or the motor to run the A/C. True? If so, how much do you have to run it? Whenever the A/C is on? How much extra gas do you bring? Is it a total oven without the A/C, or does the insulation mitigate this and hold in the coolness for a while? Do most RV's have built in generators for this? I don't remember other camps running generators all day, just periodically. I'm aware of the noise and exhaust issues associated with generators, well discussed elsewhere, and have referred them to that info.

I just want our virgin friends to be happy and prepared.

ibdave
Burning Since: 1998

Post by ibdave » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:17 pm

:shock: :shock: :roll: :roll:
Been RVing to the Playa for 12 years and I'm not even going to address any of this..... Ok maybe a little... Call the RV place and start asking them questions.. Then come back.... wOw.... :idea: :idea: :idea:
I was Born OK the 1st Time....

Don't bring defaultia to Burning Man, take Burning Man to defaultia...... graidawg

Token
Burning Since: 2001

Post by Token » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:20 pm

Most rental RVs do have a generator for running the AC, microwave and battery charging.

Most rental agencies also charge extra for the use of the generator. Typically a couple/few dollars per hour. This can add up pretty fast.