GASP...... how about the exodus...

Bikes, trikes, personal mobility and getting to/from the event - this is the place to discuss general transportation issues.
Josh-n-Cody
Burning Since: 2008

GASP...... how about the exodus...

Post by Josh-n-Cody » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:02 am

Total newbie and wondering... when do most people leave....

i'm sure trying to plan for when 40K + people are leaving on a two lane road .... but...

i read a post about the exodus peepee dance.. and more portapotties along the route out? it really takes HOURS and HOURS?

what is a reasonable time to think of leaving....

gyre

Post by gyre » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:15 am

No line by wednesday.

mojo

Post by mojo » Mon Jun 30, 2008 11:15 am

Be prepared for hours and hours. The more obnoxious exit times are obviously less populated, therefore quicker trip - such as 2:00 am after the burn, immediately before the burn, etc......

The BMIR radio station should be broadcasting info about wait times - although it's not yet perfect scientific data.

Josh-n-Cody

Post by Josh-n-Cody » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:23 pm

So in the BM info page... they talk about the permit for leaving the site as ending 11:59 pm on monday night.....

is the majority of people actually leaving sunday time ish? or do they wait until monday morning? late monday afternoon?

or is the whole "be off the playa by 11:59 pm monday" not a real thing.

phil

Post by phil » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:41 pm

Can you stay and extra day and volunteer for Exodus? Exodus really, really sucks. Read about our experience at
http://www.cieux.com/bm/bm2004.html
and follow the links to Brad's photos, as well.

If you stay till Tuesday and volunteer to help at Exodus, you get to stay with permission, and you get to actually help make Exodus better. They need people inside the gate to guide people away from lanes with breakdowns and into lanes which have less traffic. This helps people reach blacktop faster.