The sheriff of Mono, 395?

Bikes, trikes, personal mobility and getting to/from the event - this is the place to discuss general transportation issues.
ShreddinPB
Burning Since: 2012

The sheriff of Mono, 395?

Post by ShreddinPB » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:30 pm

Hey guys, this is my first year with an RV and I want to take the 395 as I hear the hills are a little more forgiving. I have also read the horror storries of the Sheriff in Mono county. I have also heard that he was replaced due to the fact that burners were boycotting that county. Is there any truth to this? Is that a more, burner safe, route now?

caffeineslinger
Burning Since: 2003

Re: The sheriff of Mono, 395?

Post by caffeineslinger » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:48 pm

As I recall he was replaced by an officer that he fired. It wasn't just burners, apparently he was making things difficult for locals and tourists alike. I say go for it. It's a great drive and a more reasonable sheriffs department now.

ShreddinPB

Post by ShreddinPB » Wed Aug 12, 2015 4:46 pm

caffeineslinger wrote:As I recall he was replaced by an officer that he fired. It wasn't just burners, apparently he was making things difficult for locals and tourists alike. I say go for it. It's a great drive and a more reasonable sheriffs department now.
Last year coming back thru the 80 in a SUV with a Uhaul was scary coming down that hill with so much wind.. dont want to attempt that in a giant RV

Token
Burning Since: 2001

Post by Token » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:57 pm

It's a fun drive.

Take your time, enjoy the towns along the way.

Drive under the speed limit in and near all towns.

You will be fine.

ShreddinPB

Post by ShreddinPB » Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:49 am

In a car I have that problem, in the RV, the speed limit is no issue. I already told all people that we will be going slow ;)

MikeGyver
Burning Since: 2011
Camp Name: Dye With Dignity

Post by MikeGyver » Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:40 am