Electric bicycles as defined by Nevada state law may operate during the event without any sort of license. That definition is as follows:
- “Electric bicycle” means a device upon which a person may ride, having two or three wheels, or every such device generally recognized as a bicycle that has fully operable pedals and is propelled by a small electric engine which produces not more than 1 gross brake horsepower and which produces not more than 750 watts final output, and:
- Is designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground but is not a tractor; and
- Powered solely by such a small electric engine, is capable of a maximum speed of not more than 20 miles per hour on a flat surface while carrying an operator who weighs 170 pounds.
- The term does not include a moped.
Electric bicycles as defined by Nevada state law may operate during the event without any sort of license. This does not mean that eBikes are exempt from the driving rules in Black Rock City, among them:
- Drive at a speed of 5 mph or less (less in hazardous situations such as tight crowds)
- Give the right of way to pedestrians, bicycles, and emergency services vehicles
- Follow the reasonable and applicable vehicle laws for road safety
Using a vehicle that does not meet the NV state classification could result in a citation, and unsafe operation could get you anything from a stern warning to having the vehicle impounded in D-Lot (and nobody wants any of those things).
Following the driving rules with electric bikes insures that they can continue to be operated at the event.