How to deal with eczema on the playa

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
squishelle
Burning Since: 2000

How to deal with eczema on the playa

Post by squishelle » Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:40 am

I have a friend, potential newbie, who is concerned about going to the playa due to his eczema. He is worried the dust will make his skin worse....

Have you or do you know someone who has weathered the skin condition storm and has some pointers?

please reply here or email squishelle at burninbabes dot com
-------------------------------
[email protected]
Guild Workshops Communications
Vancouver Regional Contact
Meta Regional Contact - Local Leader

A city in the desert. A culture of possibility. A network of dreamers and doers.

Free2B

Post by Free2B » Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:43 pm

I'm a newbie myself, but in my case I was finally prescribed a steroid cream that works if I remember to use it. My skin heals pretty well. Which reminds me, I missed a few days. I have no idea how the dust will effect my skin, but if I usually have a bad reaction after household cleaners, with the cream it's ok, so I'm hoping for the best. I will take gloves w/me just in case, to wear if my hands get irritated & to possibly put on at night over a heavy layer of steroid cream. Looking at my hands, they're actually fully healed, I haven't seem them this way in years. I guess your friend isn't reacting as well to his treatment?

mdmf007
Burning Since: 1996
Camp Name: ESD

Post by mdmf007 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:29 pm

I have psoriasis on my shins, and i have to keep it real hydrated to not crack in the dry humidity. So being well lotioned up, it turns into a dust magnet.

ragabashpup

Post by ragabashpup » Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:41 pm