first time rookie questions

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
lowteck

first time rookie questions

Post by lowteck » Thu May 27, 2004 6:53 pm

I have my ticket, I have my flight and car reserved ,and I am ready to experience my FIRST Burning Man! I am aware that I can drive into Black Rock City

Vehicles Allowed to Drive in Black Rock City:

"All motorized vehicles must remain parked and stationary for the duration of the Burning Man event"

Can I camp next to the vehicle? can I use this vehicle as a wind screen and to store my more precious belongings in? This would be a great asset as trying to keep things secure in a tent alone sounds difficult at best.

Also I read that you should have 1.5 gallons of water/day for drinking cooking etc is that enough?

What can I possibly bring to swap with others I am not an artists in the least. I hope to go and get a few hundred pictures to bring home with my camera but bringing home a piece of art would be cool also

One last ? I promise the last. I am assuming I could be naked :shock: the entire stay there with the exception of the cool nights or perhaps the blazing mid days is this correct?

Thanks for any replies in advance
JB
St Paul MN

angrykittie25

Post by angrykittie25 » Thu May 27, 2004 7:05 pm

To answer your questions:

Camping next to your car: Yes as long as you are not in the "low-density camping area.
From Burning man main site
The area on the backside of the city will be reserved for those that wish to leave their car and portage belongings away from the outside road. This vehicle-free area will by default become low-density. Cars will be left in a parking area nearby. No moving vehicles will be allowed in this area.
Water: The main site recomends 1.5 to 2 gallons of water a day for drinking. If you are planning on showering or washing dishes ect. you should plan on more. Someone else would have to help you on that one as I have not been yet.