How to reduce the chances of being sick for Burning Man

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
mulch
Burning Since: 2013

How to reduce the chances of being sick for Burning Man

Postby mulch » Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:56 am

So I'm a health care professional who deals with lots of upper respiratory infections and such. Many of these are preventable with just a few precautions and a bit of insight. The last thing you want is to get sick before BM and the last thing the rest of us want are people bringing their nasty illnesses to the playa.

So here are some tips to reduce your chance of getting an upper respiratory illness between now and then.

First, what is the most avoidable way to innoculate yourself with a cold virus or other viral URTI?

Touching your face. People rub their eyes as a matter of routine more than you might think. So you are in the grocery and touch the cart that some nasty 4 year old had in their day care mouth before you. You look over at the kiwi fruit and then without thinking rub your eyes. Well now you are sick and you bring it to the playa and share a cigarette or a kiss and get the whole camp sick.

So be aware of that all too common route and rub your eyes with the inside of your shirt, freshly washed or sanitized hands, or a kleenex. Same goes for rubbing your nose or mouth or cramming your finger up your nose. just say no.

Second, what is the most common source(s) of getting sick?

Kids.

If you can avoid being around young daycare kids, just avoid it. If you are, keep your guard up, they are little germ factories with indiscriminate habits that include rubbing their nose fingers on things that you will later touch when your guard is down.

Third, what is the most common line of bullshit that people with infectious upper respiratory problems lay on their cohorts and family.