Need help with physics/art

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
Yulzie
Burning Since: 2008
Camp Name: Spicy Krunchy

Need help with physics/art

Post by Yulzie » Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:18 pm

Hi Guys!
I'm new to eplaya....so I am not sure if this is the place to post pleas for assistance.....
So if I should repost this somewhere else, please let me know!
Anyway!!

I am in the process of building my very first art installation for the playa : )
I am super excited.
Its going to be a small art installation featuring the poetry of Bronisława Wajs, a Romani Poet burned into wood. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bronis%C5%82awa_Wajs)

Basically.....the installation will consist of...sort of like a few frames with the wood burned pieces on them, connected by chain.

Since I am doing a terrible job explaining it, here is a drawing of one frame which would hold one poem.
https://31.media.tumblr.com/2e43076ea5a ... o1_500.jpg

I also know that we are allowed to dig up to a 3foot deep/1 foot across hole in the playa.

Right now i am thinking I will
prep by drilling into the length of my 4x4
dig a 3 foot deep hole on the playa
insert rebard/metal pole 3 feet deep
slide the 4x4 on top of it (through the pre drilled hole, although Im not sure how deep it can really go. maybe a foot max?)

So, assuming I dig my 4x4 frame pieces 3 feet into the ground, how high can I safely make the frame go without adding any rope or tie off points?

I really dont want the whole thing to get wrecked and blown away.

As a side note....this will be my 8th burn so I am familiar with the weather patterns and the winds...but its my first year doing an art installation so I am freaking like a first time burner

trilobyte
Site Admin
Burning Since: 2004
Camp Name: Eridu Society

Re: Need help with physics/art

Post by trilobyte » Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:29 pm