Never Been to Burningman...But I want to.

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
Lindsay4410

Never Been to Burningman...But I want to.

Post by Lindsay4410 » Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:25 am

:oops:
So yeah. I was searching the net for something interesting to look at and found pictures of this thing you guys all call "Burning man"
I've been reading these sites for a few hours now and I STILL don't get it!
Please forgive me if my questions make your eyes roll out of your heads:

Are you guys hippies?
Artists?

When you say bring water...Do you mean like...700 gallons?
How long are you guys there for?
Where is it, exactly?
I would probably end up going either alone or with one other person to this thing....Will I perish in the desert?
I'm the newbiest noob there is, but I dont want to be. I'm an artist and work with large scale sculptures. I'd love to be a part of this and share my art. I read your pages on Q&A but unfortunately they're things like "what do I do when i'm there?" I want to know "What is this?" in any way that you may be able to help.
Thank you all so much and hopefully I'll see you there :)

-Z-
Why ask 'why' when 'how' is always more interesting?

AntiM
Burning Since: 2001
Camp Name: Anti M's Home for Wayward Art

Post by AntiM » Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:48 am

Oh dear, one of the first things in "What is Burning Man" is that it defies description. Like art and obscenity, we knows it when we sees it.

Keep reading the survival guide, the recommended reading, everything, if you keep at it you'll find things like the water formula (x gallons per person per day), and that there's something over 30,00 people there for one week (the exact dates are on th main site too, from page I think). you won't perish alone in the desert unless you are terminally stupid.

As for who "we" are, that's endlessly discussed on the boards. As for "getting it" that's another endless topic of discussion.