costs to get to BM?

Questions, answers, tips & tricks for newbies and veterans alike
prettyllama

costs to get to BM?

Post by prettyllama » Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:29 am

hi, i'm a total newbie and i thought i've been reading all the guides on the site pretty thoroughly, but i haven't read anything about the costs of getting out there (other than ticket prices, of-course).

i'm a college student and i've always had Burning Man on my list of things to do before i die, and i'm antzy to do something amazing this summer. :)
but, -since- i'm a college student, i have a limited budget so i really need to figure out the costs of all this, as best i can.

i'd be coming from Maryland with -maybe- one person at this point.
this is all up-in-the-air spur-of-the-moment, because it's 4am, but i'm curious. :)

Zulegoona

Post by Zulegoona » Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:52 am

Maybe the best thing for you to do is check out the regional organizations or even groups on Yahoo, specific to your area to get in touch with people from around you. They would have a lot better Idea what it costs to come from your location there might also be ride share opportunities that would make things cheaper. It would be a good idea to look at your schools schedule to see if the event and transit time conflicts with classes.

LostMachine

Post by LostMachine » Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:55 am

What Zulegonna said is good. It will help to find other Burners to talk to before you get there.

My guess on your cost, not counting your ticket price, would be $400 to $1500.

You might be able to do it for less but don’t count on it.

There is a 3000 mile drive that will take 3 days minimum. If you are in a car you can split driving with one other person. Any more than two people in a car and you won’t have room for everything else.

There are things you’ll need like a tent, blankets, cooler, buy those as soon as you can so you don’t need to come up with all the money at once.