Who wants to start an acoustic music camp?

Whether you're a registered theme camp or not this is the place to discuss and share camp plans, find a camp to join, or recruit new campmates.
sparkletimecowgirl
Burning Since: 2013

Who wants to start an acoustic music camp?

Post by sparkletimecowgirl » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:06 am

The whomp whomp got to be a little too intense for me last year. I'd love to see more acoustic acts take the stage by creating a theme camp centered around live music. I'm a musician (bluegrass/folk/singer-songwriter) myself and can bring many string instruments and other musical instruments to the camp. We could schedule shows throughout the day/evening, and have an open mic.

Who's in?!

Dr. Pyro
Burning Since: 1999
Camp Name: Barbie Death Camp & Wine Bistro

Re: Who wants to start an acoustic music camp?

Post by Dr. Pyro » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:50 am

This may or may not be of any use to you, but Barbie Death Camp & Wine Bistro has a piano that is tuned both before and again on the playa, so unlike many out there, you can play it and actually recognize the tune. You may want to stop by and jam with the plethora of musicians that haunt our fair little slice of paradise on the playa. Or drop by during the ePlaya Meet & Greet Wednesday evening beginning at 6 p.m. and really put on a show!

MrBeardy
Burning Since: 2011

Post by MrBeardy » Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:38 am

Reverbia has a lot of epic acoustics all week, so I'd definitely recommend contacting them to get involved, or start your own like you are saying and help grow the acoustic presence on the playa. There will always be camps jamming out, but it was nice to count on Reverbia last year as a place that always had a good place to retreat to. Leigh Jones and John Craigie were two of my favs acoustic sets of the burn and right up your alley of music. Happy burning and good luck!

gaminwench
Burning Since: 1999
Camp Name: DOTA, EoD, OBOP, Destiny Lounge