Advice on a volunteer idea

This is the place where you can ask for or offer recommendations for event-related goods and services.
badandy
Burning Since: 2019

Advice on a volunteer idea

Post by badandy » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:56 am

I am an engineer and routinely do troubleshooting on equipment including electrical, plumbing, and mechanical systems, typically outside. I also have a lot of experience in finish carpentry and furniture building.

My idea is to be a mobile mechanic to assist those having trouble with their build during build week and also during the event. I would bring my tools and go around and help. I kind of did this at my first burn event (a regional) and am interested in making it a more organized effort. I have a mechanical engineer friend who is an experienced burner that is interested as well (I'm a chemical engineer).

I think I can bring the ability to work wood, metal, troubleshoot and make repairs on mechanical equipment, electric motors, LP systems, valves, etc. I could also bring some typical spare parts (solenoid valves, fittings, hinges, wire, etc.) and perhaps even a welder.

I would like to find out:

1. Is this a good idea?
2. Is there someone already doing it that I could connect with?
3. How would one approach the organization to obtain permission for this? Perhaps to bring a motorized cart and get in during build week?

Sham

Re: Advice on a volunteer idea

Post by Sham » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:14 am

badandy wrote:
Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:56 am
I am an engineer and routinely do troubleshooting on equipment including electrical, plumbing, and mechanical systems, typically outside. I also have a lot of experience in finish carpentry and furniture building.