Directly driving 36v golf cart with 12v genny

Ideas, advice, tips, and tricks regarding the building and creation of mutant vehicles in Black Rock City
TheScout

Directly driving 36v golf cart with 12v genny

Post by TheScout » Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:22 am

I'm new to MVing and to electrical stuff, but I ended up with an old ('76) electric golf cart so that's what I built on. I want to drive the motor (36V, 55A, 2hp) with a honda eu2000i and this speed controller[http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-50V-60A-DC-M ... 1247561012] . I'm not married to that speed controller, and I'd certainly be happy to step up the voltage to 36, but I can't find a 12v to 36v converter for anything approaching a reasonable price, and I'd still have to put a few in parallel. I do want to use the generator though since I have access to that one.

http://i.imgur.com/dqXyWYW.png [https://i.imgur.com/dqXyWYW.png]

I'm trying to keep this super simple, and was hoping that someone might be able to offer a few words of advice.

This is the "big wheel" http://i.imgur.com/nRpNvDP.jpg

The CO
Burning Since: 1996
Camp Name: M*A*S*H 4207th/404://Village Not Found

Re: Directly driving 36v golf cart with 12v genny

Post by The CO » Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:32 am

Driving a 36v motor at 12v is a surefire way to burn it out. Probably when you least want it.

36v carts (especially a 1976) have like 4 parts. They are aesy to work on. My work cart (duece Anna half) is a 1996 36v, and it took 3 days total to rebuild from non functional. Most of that was waiting for new batteries.
M*A*S*H 4207th: An army of fun.
I don't care what the borg says: feather-wearers will NOT be served in Rosie's Bar.
When I ask how many burns, I mean at BRC.

Captain Goddammit
Burning Since: 2000
Camp Name: First Camp

Post by Captain Goddammit » Sun Jul 19, 2015 9:52 am

Are you thinking of running off the Honda EU2000's 12 volt battery charging output?
That won't work, it's only 8 amps max. About 100 watts. Not enough to even budge your cart.