BLACK ROCK CITY AIRBRUSH Body Paint

Theme camps and villages are the interactive core of Burning Man. This is the place to announce and discuss camp and village plans for Burning Man 2016.
jake-a-saurus
Burning Since: 2007
Camp Name: Black Rock City Airbrush

Post by jake-a-saurus » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:28 pm

Howdy ya'll, Jake-a-saurus here.

I need some advice, input, etc.

I'm the founder of Black Rock City Airbrush, I have been doing this theme camp since 2009. (2007 and 2008 I was with Bloop/Space Virgins just doing a little airbrush here and there)

What we do is airbrush t-shirts, bodies, you-say-it-we-spray-it. We invite participation, we teach you how to airbrush and body paint. We have great music playing in our airbrush booth, we have foam swords to keep the people in line occupied, we have shots we give out, we have a riding crop we pass around for people to spank each (consenting) other with. We even have a megaphone to entice people with clever banter, bad pickup lines and bad jokes.

However, I am not sure if it is me, or the change in the burning man culture, it seems people wait in line for us to paint them and leave.

not may people want to get in on the 10 principles. Its become "people waiting in line at a star bucks."

I guess I'm asking, how do make the airbrush booth fun again?

lil back story:

From 2009 to 2012, I had people jumping into the booth to help paint, Asking me to teach them how to use a double action airbrush, people gifting me and other artists in the booth; beer, kisses, hugs, high fives, coconuts, tequila, reciting me poems, telling me funny stories, bad jokes, gifting necklaces, people hooking up at my booth, Painting the person next to them in line[Big one for me], dancing, compliments, interaction, etc.