Comedy on the playa

Building an art installation or mutant vehicle? Planning to perform? Building a stage or performance space? Talk about your 2018 playa projects here.
EB
Burning Since: 2000
Camp Name: Jerk Camp

Comedy on the playa

Post by EB » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:52 pm

Hey all,

EB here, first time, long time. I've been attending off and on since 2000 & still can't believe we're at 70k attendees. It's a good thing ticket prices haven't gone up!

So I'm thinking of putting together a small camp (around 10, mixture of vets and virgins) with the purpose of hosting a small comedy stage. It'll be very basic: 1.) a 5'x8' stage with a small bar next to it, a few chairs but not "seating", a light rig & mic set-up. All covered under a 30'x30 or 40'x'40 EMT conduit/alumina-net shade structure.

My goal is to fill about an hour a night, or 8 comics doing 5 minutes each and two "headliners" doing 10 each. Less "open mic" and more "Laugh Factory on an off-Tuesday". Also: The comedy has to be ridiculously playa-centric.

Assuming I'll have all the camping stuff accounted for (as much as one can) my question(s) is/are this/these:

What am i missing?

What do you see as some of the challenges to a camp like this? Mine, so far:

Cons:
1.) Flaking
2.) General fuckery that comes with having to concentrate, at night, on the playa.
3.) Booing.

Pros:
1.) All my journeled dick jokes set free at once. Like a million voices crying out, then silenced.
2.) Free drinks for me and my friends, anywhere on the playa.
3.) Chance to be discovered by Mr. Harvey.

I'd love to hear feedback, best practices.

Thanks,

EB
Jerk Camp
Irony. You're soaking in it.

AfricanFire
Burning Since: 2010
Camp Name: Astral Headwash

Re: Comedy on the playa

Post by AfricanFire » Fri Mar 02, 2018 3:06 pm