Want to Volunteer on a Camp!

Theme camps and villages are the interactive core of Burning Man. This is the place to announce and discuss camp and village plans for Burning Man 2018.
PacoAleman
Burning Since: 2018

Want to Volunteer on a Camp!

Post by PacoAleman » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:51 am

Sorry for my english...

This is my first time! After years finally im going!! My plan so far is go by my own, i know one of the basic principles is Radical Self-reliance so at the beginning i did my plan like this, after getting my ticket trough the low income program i manage to book the "only" direct flight from Mexico to Reno, everything was sold out, the only dates available were from Monday 27th to Monday the 3th.

My original plan is to rent a car all by myself so i can put my shelter by the car and have a place to crash and lock my stuff, the airline is making me really hard to bring my camp gear, they wanna charge me insane rates for the extra luggage or overweight i might have, at the end of the story if i rent a car, i can manage to just get my basics and get a tent on walmart over there, since it will be cheaper than paying overweight here. (20 dlls per extra Kg)

I can be by my own with no problems and have a great time for sure, there is a slim chance a friend join if he manage to get a ticket on the next sale or weeks later on craiglist, but i cant wait for him to do my plans.

I would love also to be part of a larger group and a place i can put my shelter, willing to participate and contribute with camp dues in order to be fair with the rest of the crew members, my main problem is that im arriving "late" to burning man, and many camps require to be early to set up the camp, and i completely agree with that, im unable to change my flight since i bought the lowest fare, and there is no more flights anyway.