Veteran camp builder input, for this hardcore deep questionnaire

Theme camps and villages are the interactive core of Burning Man. This is the place to announce and discuss camp and village plans for Burning Man 2018.
AddamsonFlint
Burning Since: 2018
Camp Name: The Flint Fix-It Fort

Veteran camp builder input, for this hardcore deep questionnaire

Post by AddamsonFlint » Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:49 am

Wow is this is a potently thorough questionnaire- my hat's off to whoever at Burning Man wrote it. 

I am a first-time Camp Builder and am struggling a bit with what is the best placement for me. My theme is going to be an all-purpose machine shop. I don't want to be out in bufu nowhere land, but don't need to be in the center of 24/7 action either. I would like to sleep at some point, ya know.

I will be bringing a fair amount of equipment, so air patterns would be helpful to factor in, for dust. I have found threads of people posting the air patterns for prior years, but nothing current that shows this year's placement.

I am going to post the questionnaire page for location below. Read it if you like, but any input would be appreciated.

Flint

Choose your preferred location and camp size:

In Black Rock City, AVENUES are the straight, radial streets from the Man, named to follow the clock face. STREETS are curved and concentric to the Man, and are named in alphabetical order, starting with "A" Street behind Esplanade and progressing away from the Man.

Placement of registered camps ends when the gate opens, and we cannot hold your space after that time.

6:00 Center Camp Plaza, Rod’s Road and Inner Plaza

24-hour interactivity, but quieter at night time
Activities and Events for all ages
Visually interesting and Event Theme-related is a plus
Demonstrating Burner ethos
Located within the city limits, so may not produce loud sound that exceeds 90dbs at 20ft

The Esplanade and Portals at 3:00 and 9:00