Tech Advice for all, and for all subjects

All things outside of Burning Man.

Postby unjonharley » Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:58 pm

gyre wrote:It's a usb adapter for an internet phone service, also called voip.

I got a skype phone from someone who went to it.
When I picked it up, they had already quit using it and were going back to skype.
Trouble with receiving calls.
Their advice was to stick with skype, but there are other options too.
In certain situations, skype really saves money, like international travel in some places.

I haven't used skype yet, because I find their webhouse incomprehensible, and there is no support to ask.



Have no idea what you just said????
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 10124
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.
Burning Since: 2001
Camp Name: Elliot's naked bycycel repair

Postby gyre » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:00 pm

You can plug it into the computer and connect a phone to it.
It uses the net connection to replace the phone line, as comcast and vonage do.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby unjonharley » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:18 pm

gyre wrote:You can plug it into the computer and connect a phone to it.
It uses the net connection to replace the phone line, as comcast and vonage do.


Is this any value to me ? Can the phone be used at the same time??

Damn, I'm dumb
User avatar
unjonharley
 
Posts: 10124
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:05 am
Location: Salem Or.
Burning Since: 2001
Camp Name: Elliot's naked bycycel repair

Postby gyre » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:22 pm

Depends on your costs now.
Quality is usually less and when the net goes down, your phone goes with it.

I have a cheap mobile, so there hasn't been an imperative for me to use skype except for international calling.
But it can save you money.

For incoming calls, the person I met was very unhappy with magic jack.
It is cheaper than skype.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby gyre » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:25 pm

I think they are all supposed to work while you do other things on the computer.
Vonage is actually separate from the computer, but is much higher than most.

If you are bandwidth limited, you my have some issues.
Most allow you to adjust quality, ie bandwidth use.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby ygmir » Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:26 am

hi all
so, my antivirus is about to expire.
I'm wondering, and eliciting, any thoughts regarding which work well/best?

I know, it's so subjective.
I use ZA......and, it has served me well, at least, so far.

But, I'm also not such a "technophile" that there may be much better products........cheaper.

thanks in advance, for any help.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 28115
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby FIGJAM » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:27 am

Mcaffes three year was about a 40% discount and I use spybot cause its free.

CCleaner once a week to keep my speed up, also free.
"Don't buy ur Burn...........Build ur Burn!"

"If I can't find an answer, I'll create one!!!"

Fuck Im Good Just Ask Me
User avatar
FIGJAM
 
Posts: 9328
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:39 am
Location: apache junction az.

Postby Lassen Forge » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:48 am

Norton has given me consistantly stellar failures. Just saying...
User avatar
Lassen Forge
 
Posts: 5322
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:35 pm
Location: Where it's always... Wednesday. Don't lose your head over it.

Postby gyre » Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:22 pm

Avast free, and I would pay for them if I chose one to upgrade.

And iobit and superantispyware.
I use the full iobit care system for defrag and disc restoration.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Yahoo Email Navigation

Postby gyre » Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:28 pm

So far my navigation technique for eplaya threads works on yahoo classic mail also.

Go to the page number, copy the url and store it tagged by page number.
I suggest by hundreds of emails, but that is your choice.
Some times refreshing is needed to kick in the new url.
I recommend testing each url before storing.
Each should be different and is keyed to number of emails, not the date.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby Trishntek » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:53 pm

Bay Bridge Sue wrote:Norton has given me consistantly stellar failures. Just saying...


"stellar failures"???

We changed to McAfee after Norton would grind our browser to a halt. BBS, stellar failures is an understatement. Our laptops are fine since they were never exposed to Norton. The only fix for our desktop was to do a system restoration and wipe it clean.
RETROFROLIC, the place of Pink, Pain and Pleasure!
http://www.retrofrolic.com
Some call me Tnt,,,, works for me!
User avatar
Trishntek
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Ventura, CA, USA
Burning Since: 2010
Camp Name: Retrofrolic!

Postby junglesmacks » Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:31 am

I haven't used any type of anti virus or anti spyware software in over 5 years now, and have yet to have a single problem. It's real simple: don't click on stuff that you aren't supposed to. Seriously.

I do run a free online scan every now and again just to check, and I'm always clean.

Go to google and type "free virus scan trend micro" and follow directions. Also a great way to clean computers off when they are infected yet have AV software on them and it has become corrupted from the virus since it's kernel and definition file are not system based but web based.
Savannah wrote:It sounds freaky & wrong, so you need to do it.
User avatar
junglesmacks
 
Posts: 5814
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Your mom's tent
Burning Since: 2018

Postby junglesmacks » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:02 am

Also.. the best anti-spyware program is also free if you have a non-pirated copy of windows, or if you do then you know how to get pirated software anyway.

Go to the Microsoft website, and search for "Microsoft Defender". It's a free download, and works great. It's designed to work seamlessly with Windows, and sits in the background monitoring. It also does a scan nightly or whenever you set it to, and will download the latest definition file straight from Microsoft automatically before it scans. Set all of this in the "options".

Forget all of that Nortons/McAfee/Zone Alarm stuff.. They are all nothing but serious system resource hogs.
Savannah wrote:It sounds freaky & wrong, so you need to do it.
User avatar
junglesmacks
 
Posts: 5814
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Your mom's tent
Burning Since: 2018

Postby gyre » Wed Oct 27, 2010 9:18 pm

According to a comcast whiz, enabling systems that can't be turned off is the biggest problem, not viruses.
Some software is much worse about this.
He mentioned having to strip systems to recover them without the antivirus embedded.

You need software that can be turned off when running other things, or focus on one.
I only use avast for active scanning.'
There seem to be no conflicts.

Slow running can be programs running in sequence, or worse, fighting each other.


I use a netgear router with a firewall and the basic windows firewall.
I would like to get a more sophisticated firewall router.
I am advised that just using a router eliminates many problems.

Worth mentioning that viruses can show up anywhere, and may not be endemic to a site, just certain parts.
The worst problems I see are with people that respond to scam emails or answer phishing questions, like those games on bookface that ask you questions.

Trying to avoid all sites that may have stuff planted is like "never going anywhere you might need a gun".
Check out some black hat forums if you don't believe me.
Any honest site can have things added to them.

Always worth checking for exe software that shouldn't be on your machine too.
Mostly harmless except for clutter and privacy.
Software conflicts are where my issues seem to occur.
User avatar
gyre
 
Posts: 15465
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Location: ΦάÏ

Postby ygmir » Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:14 pm

well, I installed "Spyware doctor, with antivirus"........so, well see how it goes, I guess.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 28115
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby ygmir » Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:55 am

I'm thinking about a new laptop.
I see "Pentium" and "AMD" and "Celeron" processors.
Does anyone have input on value for the money?

since it's only for internet and email, it won't be doing much "computing" as such.

TIA.

Yggy
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 28115
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby dr.placebo » Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:09 am

Since your demands are on the lighter side, just about any processor will do, although I'd lean towards a dual core with at least 2.0 GHz, which is easy to get. I'd also advise going with 4 GB of RAM to make Win 7 happy. Disk won't be a problem if you are mostly using it for online stuff.

The price you pay may not reflect the lifetime price. Here's a link you might find interesting that gives reliability by brand:

http://smidgenpc.com/2010/05/07/laptop-reliability-ratings-which-laptop-is-really-most-reliable/
User avatar
dr.placebo
 
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:03 pm
Location: Volcano, HI
Burning Since: 1999
Camp Name: Cleu Camp

Postby geospyder » Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:51 am

Ygmir - We're also in the market for a laptop. Basically the same reason as you - internet access and email - in our case, while travelling. Interestingly we had settled in on an HP (DM4-1160US) but after reading the report that DP (that sounds nasty) posted - definitely having second thoughts. Our twin HP desktops at home haven't had any problem but they are dinosaurs (six year old Pentium 4 machines running XP). We were zeroing in on machines that used the Intel i5 processor. Think we'll start checking out Asus and Toshiba a little closer.
You know it's going to be a bad day when you jump out of bed and miss the floor.
User avatar
geospyder
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: South of the Playa
Burning Since: 2017

Postby JStep » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:05 am

I'm pretty loyal to HP laptops and HP machines in general, although I also have to say that my company uses Lenovo made IBM Thinkpads with XP and they are extremely stable and durable also.

I have a question for any Linux gurus. How do I install the missing plugins to make youtube, etc, work. I have tried a few versions but I don't know if I'm doing it right. I'm a total Linux neophyte.
~JStep
Nebraska Regional Contact
Tallgrass Burners - The Omaha and Nebraska Area Burning Man Regional Group
http://www.tallgrassburners.com
Email: nebraska [at] burningman.com
User avatar
JStep
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:19 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Burning Since: 2011

Postby ygmir » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:03 pm

that's interesting info, Doc, thanks.
I had not considered the "durability" issue.....just figuring they are all alike.

obviously, not so.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 28115
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby JStep » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:34 pm

dr.placebo wrote:
The price you pay may not reflect the lifetime price. Here's a link you might find interesting that gives reliability by brand:

http://smidgenpc.com/2010/05/07/laptop-reliability-ratings-which-laptop-is-really-most-reliable/


VERY surprising! My anecdotal experience is the reverse of the graph, but I would think relying on the graph would be the way to go.

In my experience directly Dell makes crap, and everything I've heard from others backs it up. Then again, I've owned 5 HP units and one of them went to shit within 3 years, but it was running Win98. (Tell me what machine running Win98 DIDN'T go to shit immediately) which represents a 20% fail rate, anecdotal as it is.

I'd like to see data on more obscure machines and breakdowns on what OS was on them. Alienware is particularly interesting as I hear great things about them and yet almost no one owns an Alienware unit except hardcore gamers and music producers.
~JStep
Nebraska Regional Contact
Tallgrass Burners - The Omaha and Nebraska Area Burning Man Regional Group
http://www.tallgrassburners.com
Email: nebraska [at] burningman.com
User avatar
JStep
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:19 pm
Location: Omaha, NE
Burning Since: 2011

Postby Bob » Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:56 pm

Bitches, I'm still running Win 98 on my desktop.

If I bought another laptop it'd have to have a clit mouse like the Thinkpad.
Amazing desert structures & stuff: http://sites.google.com/site/potatotrap/

"Let us say I suggest you may be human." -- Reverend Mother Gaius Helen Mohiam
User avatar
Bob
 
Posts: 6762
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:00 am
Location: San Francisco
Burning Since: 1986
Camp Name: Royaneh

Postby geospyder » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:36 pm

Bit the bullet and ordered a HP dm4 from Costco.com. Rather than customize it, I ordered the basic Costco configuration - 6GB, Intel i5 processor and 500 GB 7200 rpm hard drive.
You know it's going to be a bad day when you jump out of bed and miss the floor.
User avatar
geospyder
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: South of the Playa
Burning Since: 2017

Postby ygmir » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:58 pm

geospyder wrote:Bit the bullet and ordered a HP dm4 from Costco.com. Rather than customize it, I ordered the basic Costco configuration - 6GB, Intel i5 processor and 500 GB 7200 rpm hard drive.


how much was it?
if I may ask.
YGMIR

Unabashed Nordic
Pagan
User avatar
ygmir
 
Posts: 28115
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:36 pm
Location: nevada county
Burning Since: 2017
Camp Name: qqqq

Postby geospyder » Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:49 pm

$725 plus tax = $782. Shipping was free. Definitely less expensive than the in store version of the dm4 which had a slower processor and only 4GB memory. It was priced at $799 before taxes. The store told us that on line had more choices and was less expensive.
You know it's going to be a bad day when you jump out of bed and miss the floor.
User avatar
geospyder
 
Posts: 1830
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:38 pm
Location: South of the Playa
Burning Since: 2017

Postby can't sit still » Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:45 pm

I don't post things because I believe that they are the absolute truth. I post them because I believe that they should be considered.
can't sit still
 
Posts: 4645
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: SoCal

Postby knowmad » Sat Jan 01, 2011 12:50 am

JStep wrote:I'm pretty loyal to HP laptops and HP machines in general, although I also have to say that my company uses Lenovo made IBM Thinkpads with XP and they are extremely stable and durable also.

I have a question for any Linux gurus. How do I install the missing plugins to make youtube, etc, work. I have tried a few versions but I don't know if I'm doing it right. I'm a total Linux neophyte.


what flavor of Linux are you using? Debian, unbutu, suse? and what browser.
probly mozilla and that is a flash 10 thing, also no fun.
............................................Image...........................................
Oh yeah, this year I was totally twerping out at the fence. ~Lonesombri
User avatar
knowmad
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 11:33 pm
Location: Puget Sound
Burning Since: 2009
Camp Name: 09-11 Specialist Clan
12 BWS BDV/DPB

Postby EspressoDude » Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:16 pm

Ok, after a zillion years of browsing the innernet, yesterday using giggle to search for nissan exterra images, clicked on one that Norton
Security Suite caught, and I thought I had bailed from that properly.

However now whenever I exit internet Explorer, Norton pops a message about an attack from:

lkaturl.com 91.212.158.72, 443
or
34jh7alm94.asia 91.212.226.6, 443

application path \device\harddiskvolume1\window\system32\svchost.exe

any computer gurus out there that have ideas how to stop this?

Internet connection is thru a Netgear prosafe firewall/router.

re-install winnows internet exploder?

not to interested at this point in trying a diffo internet access program
Is 4 shots enuff? no foo-foo drinks; just naked Espresso
Tactical Espresso Service http://home.comcast.net/~espressocamp/
Field Artillery Tractor
FOGBANK, GOD OF HELLFIRE
BLACK ROCK f/x Trojan Horse,Anubis,2014Temple
burn shit and blow shit up
User avatar
EspressoDude
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: the first Vancouver

Postby mdmf007 » Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:06 pm

You did restart your computer?
User avatar
mdmf007
Moderator
 
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:32 pm
Location: my computer
Burning Since: 1996
Camp Name: ESD

Postby EspressoDude » Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:10 am

yes, have done the restart with windows / start / turn off computer.

OS is XP pro ver 2002 service pack 3. set to allow automatic windows updates.
Is 4 shots enuff? no foo-foo drinks; just naked Espresso
Tactical Espresso Service http://home.comcast.net/~espressocamp/
Field Artillery Tractor
FOGBANK, GOD OF HELLFIRE
BLACK ROCK f/x Trojan Horse,Anubis,2014Temple
burn shit and blow shit up
User avatar
EspressoDude
 
Posts: 4890
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:30 pm
Location: the first Vancouver

PreviousNext

Return to Open Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mgb327 and 2 guests