Will BM come to the same end?

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.
MoisturePup

Will BM come to the same end?

Post by MoisturePup » Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:05 pm

I've been attending Halloween events for the past 12 years in either West Hollywood or SF's Castro.

Is Burning Man going to find itself going in this same direction? Creativity replaced with crowds of gawkers? I know many of the old timers feel that it's already been lost in some ways. I personally feel (having only been the last two years) that perhaps it has morphed into something different, but something that is still great. What do you think?

An older friend, who was around for when these "traditions" began, told me about the first few Halloweens where the gays came out to create their own unique festival. He said that in the early years (early 80s or late 70's I'm guessing) of the WeHo Halloween it was just a few drag queens that would walk down to San Vicente, get on the hood of a car waiting at the stop signal, and then ride it down Santa Monica Blvd to make their own impromptu floats. At Doheney they would hope off the hood and get onto the hood of a car going back the other direction. Every year the crowds got bigger until the streets had to be closed because of the overflowing people on the sidewalks. This was fine at first, the gays were very creative with their individual and group costumes, and most everybody dressed up.

I began attending the halloween events in 1994, which back then was still pretty much a gay event. There was plenty of room to walk around, people had incredible costumes, and it was fantastic. But every year the crowd kept growing, bigger and bigger... to the point where nobody could do a group costume because the crowds were too thick. It also became all to common to hear the word "fag" coming out of some straight assholes mouth.