Close the Gates on Thursday !

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.
Tafkah

Close the Gates on Thursday !

Post by Tafkah » Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:14 pm

It seems to me that many of the ills facing Burning Man could be cured simply by closing the gates on Thursday morning. No one gets in after then (except in & outs and BM staff). Of course you could leave anytime you want.

Just think how many yahoos that would dissuade from coming. Imagine the beautiful monday/tuesday/wednesday vibe continuing all week and through the weekend. Imagine no one coming just for a two day rave?

What's stopping it from happening, other than that ugly old money thing?

Piper

Post by Piper » Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:20 pm

Heres is one, I am a teacher in Reno so it is easy for me, usually, to get out there. I was able to go out on Monday night, meet my camp and pay for an in and out and then went out thursday.
Now I might not be able to get Thursday off, but get Friday(first week of school). So I am to be kept out because I work? Now I do agree with no ticket sale after wednesday night, just will calls, but do not keep out burners due to work, please
Peace
Piper

I said, "Man, I'd like to stay
But I'm bound for glory
I'm on my way
My ride's here...

Warren Zevon RIP

Stormy

Post by Stormy » Thu Sep 18, 2003 12:48 am

Piper wrote:Heres is one, I am a teacher in Reno so it is easy for me, usually, to get out there. I was able to go out on Monday night, meet my camp and pay for an in and out and then went out thursday.
Now I might not be able to get Thursday off, but get Friday(first week of school). So I am to be kept out because I work? Now I do agree with no ticket sale after wednesday night, just will calls, but do not keep out burners due to work, please
With you on this one. Though damn, why don't they just move the date already?
Be the change you seek in the world.

supersurly

Post by supersurly » Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:30 am