When does a gift become an obligation?

Share your views on the policies, philosophies, and spirit of Burning Man.
samdu

When does a gift become an obligation?

Post by samdu » Thu Apr 21, 2005 6:17 pm

Last year was my 1st year on the playa, and it was amazing. I made a lot of new friends, saw some amazing new sights, and thought about amazing new things. Since I'm not an artist, and don't paint, draw, sculpt, etc, i didn't really have a tangible "gift" to give to people. But i love to cook, so i decided that my gift would be homemade hot soup every night to anyone who looked like they needed it.

i did all the prep work at home, made all the bases and broths and froze them in plastic coffee cans. made cooking every night a lot easier, to just have to throw everything into the big stock pot, heat it up, and look for people to hand soup to. for the most part, it went really well! people seemed to love the hot soup, and many showed up for a bowl on more than one night. it was a wonderful feeling to look around and see 5 or 10 new friends all sitting under our shade structure, eating, talking, laughing.

so, here's where it gets a little ugly. i had several people who seemed to think that i was obligated to feed them every night. i made a huge stock pot of soup every night, and served until it was gone. no matter if you came back for seconds, as long as there was soup left, it got handed out. i had one woman show up 2 hours after the last bowl was gone one night, and berate me for not "saving" her some. she told me that she hadn't bothered to eat all day, because she knew she could come by my camp and get soup, and since she was here, i HAD to feed her! i tried to be very nice, and explain that the soup had run out 2 hours ago, and that she was welcome to come back tomorrow night, but she actually started going through my pantry! i finally sent her off with a can of chef-boy-ardi.