Going to Burning Man Alone?!!?!?

Start here - tell us about yourself and what brings you to ePlaya.

Should I come the entire week, the first days by myself?

Yes, definitely
49%
Yes, definitely
49%
Wait for your friends!
1%
Wait for your friends!
1%

Total votes: 104

StephanL

Going to Burning Man Alone?!!?!?

Post by StephanL » Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:32 pm

Well, title says it all!

I'm a student from the Netherlands, and I've been wanting to go to burning man since I heard of it and saw the pictures. I used to live in Utah about 7 years ago (foreign exchange), and some of my mates are actually coming along! But.... they can only get off of work on friday. And because I really really don't want to miss it, I am considering just coming by myself!

Has anyone ever met anyone that went alone? Would you still recommend it? I definitely would want to join a camp than, but wouldn't I still sort of be the "lonely guy"? I am pretty sociable, but would I still have fun by myself? Or should I wait until thursday and come with my mates, and not let the "lonely" days ruin the overall experience?

Nitevenus

Post by Nitevenus » Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:51 pm

Do a bit more reading. A couple of thread titles below *Introduce Yourself* under *Experiences* have people posting "camping alone". Welcome to eplaya and welcome home. After reading up on the survival guide and you feel you can be self sufficient, why wait? You came all this way for a couple of days on the playa? You are NOT alone....all kinds of people have arrived alone but not for long. Awesome place, great people...soon to include YOU!

theCryptofishist
Burning Since: 2017

Post by theCryptofishist » Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:12 pm

Think of what a tour guide you'll be for your friends.

If they can find y ou...
The Lady with a Lamprey

"The powerful are exploiting people, art and ideas, and this leads to us plebes debating how to best ration ice.
Man, no wonder they always win....." Lonesomebri

StephanL