DC newbie seeks camp, true love, Count Rugen

Start here - tell us about yourself and what brings you to ePlaya.
Vaialos

DC newbie seeks camp, true love, Count Rugen

Post by Vaialos » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:54 pm

Hey folks,

I'm a Burning Man newbie (virgin seems the more accepted term). I'm male, in my mid-20's, and live west of D.C. I've wanted to Burn for about 6 years now but never had the gumption/time/resources. Finally, though, this year! I make video games for a living. I'm rather unlikely to bite your legs off or otherwise fuel your horror stories for NEXT year's Burning Man.

I have my ticket and I'm looking to join a theme camp. I have no idea where to start shopping.

I don't have any doubts about being able to survive my first burn (and comfortably) but I am looking for a few things:
  • - early access to BRC. This is my primary motive in seeking a camp, to be honest; several veterans recommended I do so to acclimate myself to the alkali, temperature, and altitude (4K feet isn't awful, but hey) as well as to participate in the full experience. According to them half the fun is the camaraderie of a setup crew and watching people test their various stuff out.

- collaborating on transport across the country. I have a 2-door Civic and am willing and able to hoof it myself, but I feel like that's not wise, what with all the water, my bicycle, etc.

- a solid microcommunity
I've triple-read most of the resources on the site and am gradually whipping myself into a nice frothy state of excitement (current moment of joy: building an EL-wire outfit).

What I bring to the table:
  • - significant outdoors experience (Boy Scout, did Philmont (read: high-altitude desert backpacking))
    - all the equipment I need, plus extra cordage, tarps.
    - strong sense of resourcefulness (read: MacGyver complex)
    - decent culinary experience (catered for a few years)
    - decent handyman experience (nothing huge, but basics in carpentry/wiring/plumbing)