New tricks for an old dog

Start here - tell us about yourself and what brings you to ePlaya.
SquireM
Burning Since: 2014
Camp Name: Hope

New tricks for an old dog

Postby SquireM » Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:59 am

Hello my fellow Hopefuls,

In the spirit of Radical Self-expression, and at the risk of sharing to much information, I'd like to articulate my only fear about attending Burning Man.

A little background... I'm 40. I've never cared about my age, but somehow 40 hit me hard. Perhaps this is the typical midlife crisis I've heard about, though I have no desire to get divorced or date a younger women or buy a sports car. It's more about getting off my ass and doing the things I always said I wanted to do.. "some day". I first heard about Burning Man while traveling in South America in 1996. It captured my imagination and I've held it like some sort of Utopian ideal ever since. I'm an instructor at a university and the week before classes is not conducive to taking a vacation. I also had several acquaintances who had gone to Burning Man in the early nineties and thought it's popularity was killing its entire ideal.
Then 4 years ago I was doing so research on emergent systems and stumbled on Burning Man as an example of an emergent human system. Since then I've been reading and watching videos and generally fantasizing about going. As mentioned above, it was never convenient, but enough is enough. I'm going.