Ready to come home. Finally.

Start here - tell us about yourself and what brings you to ePlaya.
NikonKing
Burning Since: 2018

Ready to come home. Finally.

Post by NikonKing » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:25 am

So let's hit the elephant in the room straight off.

I'm not your typical virgin burner. I'm a middle-aged, Midwestern corporate executive running an organization of hundreds with immense responsibilities to a corporate board, stockholders and an incredibly demanding customer base. I have been doing what I do for more than 25 years, and am seen as a rock of stability to my family, friends, and co-workers. Last person you'd expect on the playa as a virgin? How many burners feel comfortable in a suit/tie and a board room? Perhaps more than we realize. Regardless, I desire to finally be part of a community enhanced by the ethos and culture of Burning Man, the lessons of which I plan to leverage in my corporate responsibilities -- and my legacy as a husband, father, and citizen of the world. It's a big task.

Like many, my only connection to Burning Man has been YouTube and a personal connection on Facebook whom I've never met in the real world. He opined to his followers how Burning Man can't sufficiently be explained. It has to be "experienced." That's something I can relate to since the most profound moments of my life were through a hard (typically unplanned) experience. After a fair bit of online exploration, I decided Burning Man was something from which I would benefit on so many different levels, and something to which I'm sure I could contribute. But first thing's first. I needed the support of my wife. It's not a common "ask" at this point in our lives, I'm sure you'd agree.