Looking for Camp of minimum 48 people to Collaborate with me

Exchange camp ideas, find places to perform, announce your events, etc.
kevin

Looking for Camp of minimum 48 people to Collaborate with me

Post by kevin » Sun Jun 04, 2006 10:49 am

48 Macintosh Computer Helmets For Burning Man Camp

"Hope and Fear: The Future"

I am a conceptual artist looking for a group of 48 people to wear the shell of a Macintosh computer on their heads. I have 48 cleaned out plastic shells of a the old luggable macs in the back of my truck and will deliver them to someone in san francisco. I am Moving and need to find a place to store them untill burning man. I am giving these helmets to the person who will be in charge of getting all 48 of them worn, if only for 15 minutes, at burning man.

This project is about learning how to cope with the end of the 20th century by embracing the roots of our virtual identities. This collective effort/performance will be both a nostalgic act and a literal objectification of our cyborg-ness. (Cyborg means: A human who has certain physiological processes aided or controlled by mechanical or electronic devices.)

In 1984 Macintosh was introduced. Please follow this link and see what Sara Stein wrote about the ad. You can also view the Ad here.

http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/adclass/1984_mac_ad.html

We are questioning the 'freedom' we have been granted by the p.c. while paying homage to it.

Wearing these computers on our heads, in a large group will be the acceptance of our fate as cyborgs. It will also be elevating the now quaint, obsolete, and in retrospect ominous object, out of the realm of 'stuff' and into the place it has always wanted to be. With it's anthropoid-centric design it always wanted to be a head controlling a body. Now we will give it its day. Mind you it has been disemboweled, it's innards melted into new objects with only the shell of its physical soul left to be worn. Worn by us. The robots. The cyborgs. The Mac Heads.