Will I Be Shunned?

Share your pictures and video. Tell us about the sights, sounds, and scents, as well as the rumors and truths found at Burning Man.
macgregor

Will I Be Shunned?

Post by macgregor » Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:14 am

This will be my first Burning Man. And there's no way in hell I'm going as a spectator. I have an idea or two of what I want to do...along the lines of drawing on folks...temporary "tattoos".

My idea roughly is intentioanlly bad drawings on people. Intentionally bad being my way to express what the tattooee wants drawn on them.

I feel like this is a fun idea. And that people would be into it. And that they'd enjoy a bad tattoo for a day or so, until it sweats off.

Any thoughts on this? As it's my first time, I really am not sure what to expect. Even after reading everything on the site and talking to folks who have been. Are people's exhibits and performances ever scoffed or laughed at? I would hope not. I hope this will be the fairly harmonious event I am planning in my mind.

So do I need to worry about jerks telling me what I do sucks? That's pretty much what I'm wondering.

(And even if people do tell me what I do is dumb...I'd do it anyway, because it's an idea I'm becoming more and mor enthused with...)

actiongrl

Post by actiongrl » Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:19 am

WEll, I think it's funny...reminds me of the Family Guy moment where the tattoo artist is muttering something like "I'm really good at drawing Snoopy" and the subject is this big tough guy saying "No, I want a skull with snakes coming out of the eyes..." and the artist goes, "Right, then, one Snoopy coming up...here we go..."

I hope you have a great time! Maybe I didn't answer your question, but I can't speak for everyone else...I guess you have to put yourself in your subject's shoes and ask what you'd do if you asked for one thing and got another. I can't decide what I think of that. :)

Chai Guy

Post by Chai Guy » Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:19 am