ZABASEARCH

All things outside of Burning Man.
Post Reply
User avatar
diane o'thirst
Posts: 2092
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 5:04 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

ZABASEARCH

Post by diane o'thirst » Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:12 pm

This is major, people. I'm not one to subscribe to conspiracy theory but I just found out about an online database that's damn SCARY. Read on...

It's called <b>ZABASEARCH</b>. Here's the URL:

http://www.zabasearch.com

It is a free database where <u><b>ANYONE</u></b> can enter your name and get your personal information, including current address and phone number. They can even e-mail you without knowing your e-mail address. I entered mine and the names of my family and a few friends and we were all in there — most importantly, without our knowledge or consent.

It gets worse. I wrote to them and got an e-mail back saying that I need to send a hand-written request with my full name with middle initial, address, phone number, year of birth, SIGNATURE and other personal information "for confirmation purposes." They said to send it to a landbased address in Omaha, Nebraska. I'm also told that it will take SEVERAL WEEKS to remove my information from the database and they offer no guarantee that it will be removed permanently.

This is a scam of the first degree.

Fortunately there's a website dedicated to fighting these guys, including letter forms you can send not just to the directors of Zabasearch, but also to your Congresspeople, legislators, attorneys, and newspapers. Here's that link:

http://stopzaba.atspace.com/

Get on this, people! Spread the word and get behind StopZabasearch so we can nail these slimebuckets' asses to the wall and shut them down.
[url=http://tinyurl.com/245sagf][img]http://tinyurl.com/2bbr28j/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/23753ws][img]http://tinyurl.com/2auqebj/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/m4y82q][img]http://tinyurl.com/l56rdn/.gif[/img][/url]

User avatar
Ranger Genius
Posts: 2408
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:07 am
Location: Behind the Zion Curtain
Contact:

Post by Ranger Genius » Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:55 am

Stop them from doing what? Compiling and providing publically available information? Should we also start a campaign to force Yahoo to remove the yellow pages section of their website? Start banning phone books? All the information about me that's on that site is availabe in a five-year old phone book.
“We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.”

User avatar
Lassen Forge
Posts: 5320
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:35 pm
Location: Where it's always... Wednesday. Don't lose your head over it.

Post by Lassen Forge » Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:39 am

Hmmm

Not very accurate info... or maybe, too much info. Sure it had me and my addresses down (and even a phone number), tho it shows... lessee... Me, my ex, my sister in law, my deceased father, a cousin, a few non-people (on our radar screen) all living at my stepmom's house... Since none of us have ever lived there (or had it as an address) I don't think it's that accurate.

Then again... I was able to find an old BF who disappeared decades ago... not that I care (OK, I do a bit, otherwise I would have never looked him up), but I know where he is now.

Now I know, however, why I get spam snailmail for my ex (and telemarketer calls - Oy!)... Makes for fun times...

User avatar
diane o'thirst
Posts: 2092
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 5:04 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Post by diane o'thirst » Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:46 pm

It's a phishing/money scam. They do get it out of phone book but it's a lure. They require that you send a hand-written, signed snail-mail letter to get your information taken down so they get your signature so they can forge it — and let the games begin. Yippee yi fuckin' yo. Ki yay, even.

They also charge you for YOUR OWN background check.

Whatever you do, DON'T GET PISSED AND SEND A SIGNED LETTER TO THESE ASSHOLES! Don't play their game, they're uber-trolls. Just go to StopZaba.com and throw your lot in with them so we can shut their little racket down.
[url=http://tinyurl.com/245sagf][img]http://tinyurl.com/2bbr28j/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/23753ws][img]http://tinyurl.com/2auqebj/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/m4y82q][img]http://tinyurl.com/l56rdn/.gif[/img][/url]

Kinetic IV
Posts: 2977
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:34 pm
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine as of 10/27/06

Post by Kinetic IV » Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:53 pm

If this site wasn't scary enough go visit Qchex.com and take a look at that racket. Anyone can sign up with your checking account number and drain your account dry. Normally I'm skeptical of stuff like this but I heard of Qchex through the Chicago Tribune and the Kansas City Star also ran a story about it. Take a look and be prepared to be shocked.
K-IV
~~~~
Thank you for over 7 years of eplaya memories. I have asked Emily Sparkle to delete my account and I am gone. Goodbye and Goodluck to all of you! I will miss you!

User avatar
diane o'thirst
Posts: 2092
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 5:04 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Post by diane o'thirst » Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:55 pm

Thank the Gods I don't have a checking account...
[url=http://tinyurl.com/245sagf][img]http://tinyurl.com/2bbr28j/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/23753ws][img]http://tinyurl.com/2auqebj/.gif[/img][/url][url=http://tinyurl.com/m4y82q][img]http://tinyurl.com/l56rdn/.gif[/img][/url]

Post Reply

Return to “Open Discussion”